TRIPADVISOR-LOGOS-2015-SMALL

Winner of the TripAdvisor hotel award of excellence for five years running, (2011,2012,2013,2014,2015).

Take a browse through some real reviews of customers who have stayed with us below

 .

 
  • “Nice place, superb staff”

    We stayed for Christmas and were extremely well looked after. The staff could not do enough for any of the guests and were always friendly, polite and helpful without exception. We are vegetarian and were treated to something special from the kitchen every day.
    The cosy double was clean and tidy and as described.

     
    Elena F, Bideford, UK — 4th January, 2017
  • “Great newyear break”

    We went to this lovley hotel for a 3 night newyear package,the room was small but clean and comfortable,everything we needed was there,the garden was lovley,we had a sea view from the restaurant and garden,the food was excellent as we’re all the staff,there was great entertainment we could not complain about anything,our stay was great we will definitely return.

     
    Caroline T, Reading, UK — 4th January, 2017
  • “2 Night TWIXMAS break”

    The room was described as Cozy Sea View. It was quite small but had everything we needed plus more. The shower room is also quite small but again is fully functional and with excellent quality shower gel and hand wash. The towels are large and very clean. The bed itself is very comfortable and the tea and coffee making supplies and biscuits are generous. The sea view was beautiful across the lovely gardens and over Torbay. The meals are the thing that makes this hotel so special. Breakfasts were fantastic, individually cooked and piping hot and an extremely good selection. But it’s the dinner which is amazing. Five course dinners are the norm and the quality of the meat and the portion sizes are first rate. No mushy tasteless veg here, everything perfectly cooked. Great dessert selection as well and also cheese & biscuits. It is obvious that this is a hidden treasure of a hotel with loads of repeat business guests as the waiting staff knew many of them personally. The staff are a delight. They seem very happy with their employment and certainly go out of their way to make guests very comfortable. Would I go back there? You bet – we are going to book up for mid 2017. Oh I forgot, a bus stop right outside the hotel not 25 yards away (no 64) takes you right into Torquay Town Centre – perfect. Leave the car and let the bus take the strain.

     
    DS1064, Ferndown, UK — 30th December, 2016
  • “1st Christmas away”

    Best Christmas I have had in years, (ha ha no preparing or clearing up). Didn’t expect too much, OMG it was brilliant I would give the menus and staff 6*. The 4 night break far exceeded my expectations. Have already booked in for next Christmas. Anyone reading this review, please bear in mind we were all “silver tops” but during the evening entertainment you wouldn’t think so!!!!!! Christmas 2017 you might have to go on a waiting list!!

     
    Carol I, Calne, UK — 29th December, 2016
  • “Christmas Break”

    Absolutely marvelous. The food, the staff, the attention, everything was excellent. We have already booked again for next year.

     
    johncF2416WO, Calne, UK — 28th December, 2016
  • “Fabulous Christmas”

    We went here for Christmas largely because of the large number of positive reviews this hotel had attracted. We weren’t disappointed. Fabulous service, fabulous food and a warm friendly atmosphere. The clientele were all elderly and most had been there numerous times before. Everybody talked to you and made you feel welcome. We felt like one big happy family. Already booked for next Christmas. The staff were so attentive and friendly.

     
    brndncassidy, Merstham, UK — 28th Dec, 2016
  • “Amazing food”

    Stayed at the Balmoral for a girls long weekend and had the best time. The staff were attentive, warm and friendly. The rooms were comfortable. One of our party had to have their room changed and it was done without a problem. The cream tea was delightful after a busy day shopping and the 5 course dinner was delicious. Great choices and also great vegetarian options, which was much appreciated by the veggies among us and a Christmas lunch before we departed on the Sunday was a treat before our journey home. Entertainment on the Friday night was a singer called Steve Parr, who was hilarious and really entertained everyone with his stories in between the songs which sounded amazing. A really enjoyable weekend.

     
    Tracey C, Stroud, United Kingdom — 15th December, 2016
  • “Weekend Break”

    The hotel was clean, the facilities were good, the room was cosy, but the wallpaper was very busy, everything worked in the room. The staff were friendly, polite and attentive. The food was good, maybe a touch more seasoning. We had a lovely Christmas lunch. As we another couple did not leave on the Sunday evening we were provided with a platter of sandwiches with garnishes for our evening meal which was adequate as the lunch was three courses. The hotel is located a short walk from Meadfoot beach and about 20 to 30 minute walk from Torquay Harbour, and is a quiet location. We enjoyed our weekend break

     
    Ianfarno, Alfreton, United Kingdom — 14th December, 2016
  • “Pre Christmas break”

    We booked a cosy room late and had no opportunity to choose a ‘better’ room. However, the room was as described on the website so we were not disappointed. That said, although the room was perfectly comfortable, we’d probably choose a room with a view if we visited again.
    Food and service were better than anticipated and bar prices were reasonable.
    With a 20 minute walk to Kents Caves, a 20 minute walk to the town and quay, and a five minute walk to the sea we were extremely satisfied with the location. For us a key requirement from a weekend break is to park the car and not use it for the duration.
    We have already recommended this hotel to other family members.

     
    kritsayvonne, Kritsa, Greece — 13th December, 2016
  • “fab weekend”

    We had a fine time wonderful service, fab food entertainment frist class rooms lovely num 5 a must sea views garden views great weekend are party was 7 of us lov it so stuff with food and drink plenty for all ,if you go as a couple or a group ,you will all have a wonderful weekend or week and I bet you you rebook xx

     
    dee42d, Bristol, UK — 13th December, 2016
  • “Very good personnel service throughout”

    sea view room in a good location with a really good shower and comfortable bed excellent service from all staff and nothing too much trouble. Everything clean and tidy throughout. Extremely good value for money.

     
    537geoff, Blandford Forum, United Kingdom — 9th December, 2016
  • “Brilliant hotel for a short break”

    We stayed here with a large group of friends over four nights. I cannot praise the staff enough.. they went out of their way to make us all feel welcome and the service at mealtimes was brilliant. The standard of food was very good and beautifully presented on HOT plates, which is to be commended. Although the hotel is a short distance from Torquay centre, there is a bus stop outside the hotel or a stiff uphill walk before dropping down into town. I would certainly recommend the hotel and would happily return next year.

     
    robwyatt85, Blandford Saint Mary, United Kingdom — 11th Dec, 2016
  • “Great Stay!”

    We went to The Hotel Balmoral for our anniversary weekend and booked the weekend package that included meals. The staff was very responsive, our room was great, and the food was delicious. We were very happy with our stay and would definitely recommend it to others!

     
    morganmissy, Plymouth, UK — 8th December, 2016
  • “Christmas shopping break”

    Absolutely fantastic yet again had a wonderful 4 night break staff, room, setting, service perfect. Food out of this world fantastic value for money we will keep returning. Nothing too much trouble for staff thank you so much x

     
    Julie H, Birmingham, UK — 26th Nov, 2016
  • “Annual Trip to Torquay with Friends”

    Excellent hotel with a friendly and welcoming atmosphere, excellent food with very attentive waiter and waitress service. Well stocked bar with an array of spirit and ales. Nice quiet location and very good value for money, we have been coming to the Balmora hotel for six years now and we have always had a pleasant stay.

     
    Tonybuck177, Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom — 25th November, 2016
  • “Turkey & Tinsel”

    Had a brilliant stay here at the Balmoral. Hotel clean & tidy. Food was excellent, we’ll be back for more next year. All the staff were very friendly. The service in the restaurant was second to none.

     
    Sorento 13, Birmingham, UK — 19th Nov, 2016
  • “Arrived Tuesday 15th November 16 for 3 night.”

    What can I say.just a few things. Amazing.food amazing hotel amazing staff brilliant.wish we could have stayed long. Other hotel quests make this a brilliant place. Met some lovely guest and had a good laugh . we have Xmas dinner Wednesday 16th November. That was the best 4 course.

    We will be returning in 2017.

     
    Andrew K, — 18th November, 2016
  • “Summary of an excellent experience”

    Found this hotel on the internet and thought it was too good to be true. How wrong can you be? We really enjoyed our break and would certainly be looking to visit again. The food was excellent and plentiful and the staff were so friendly and helpful. Very cosy and nice touches such as cream tea on arrival and coffee after dinner in the lounge enabled us to chat to other guests which was nice. Near to home in Plymouth but well worth having a nice relaxing break. I would recommend this hotel.

     
    ray334, Plymouth, UK — 15th November, 2016
  • “4 night break 1/2 board at the Balmoral”

    Once again we have spent a lovely break at the Hotel Balmoral, Torquay. Staff lovely, rooms very very clean, and food very good. Enjoyed another 4 day break. looking forward to our next one.Bus stop right outside of hotel, so no need to take the car.Use your bus pass if you have one?

     
    shirley v, Bristol, UK — 13th Nov, 2016
  • “Excellent small friendly hotel”

    It’s our second visit ,the first being over the New Year a couple of years ago.Since then they have decorated the public rooms making them warm and welcoming. Food is excellant with plenty of choice . We stayed in the standard double room , large enough and with a comfy bed. Staff are very friendly and many of the guests return several times a year ,for weekend breaks etc. It is only a short walk to the centre of Torquay or there is a bus stop outside . There also a beach within a couple of minutes of the hotel , Would have no worries about staying there again

     
    Paulinepunt, Petersfield, UK — 13th Nov, 2016
  • “Thank-you”

    We stayed at this Hotel for a weekend in April and we were really impressed! With the lovely rooms,and the quality of the food! And personal service,and lovely staff! So we came back on the 31st October for three nights,which was just as good!,we will be back for another weekend,perhaps in the new year,thanks again for your excellent hotel!

     
    PatriciaBentley, Bath, UK — 9th Nov, 2016
  • “The Hotel Balmoral, Torquay.”

    We had a cosy double room with en-suite. The bed was clean and comfortable and we asked for extra pillows which they provided immediately.
    The food was excellent with plenty of choice both at breakfast and evening meals.
    The staff were all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
    All in all an great stay and we would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

     
    normanandsheila, Cheltenham, UK — 8th Nov, 2016
  • “Excellent Hotel”

    Excellent Service. Rooms were of a good standard. Hotel is about 1/2 mile from town centre(walking distance). All of the meals were very good quality and the staff were very helpful and did everything with a smile. We had good entertainment one night, not so good the second night. Overall I would recommend this hotel to everybody.

     
    Maurice D, Christchurch, UK — 1st November, 2016
  • “October break”

    This is a lovely hotel situated in a beautiful location not too far from the centre of Torquay. This is the 3rd time we have stayed here and it is still great value for money. The rooms are clean and comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities too. Hairdryer in room as well Toiletries for bathtime provided also. Clean towels when requested. Restaurant absolutely fantastic with a tremendous choice for breakfast and evening meals. Superbly cooked and plentiful. Staff very friendly and helpful. We would recommend this hotel for a break away in beautiful Devon. Lots of attractions nearby such as Paignton Zoo, Widecombe, Dartmoor, Babbacombe model village, Cockington, Brixham, Totnes and Newton Abbot.

     
    tonju87, Wareham, UK — 28th October, 2016
  • “Relaxing weekend break”

    We stayed at this hotel very recently and experienced exceptional care from all the staff which made this one of the most enjoyable and memorable breaks away. The food was delicious and the menu catered very well for my gluten and dairy free dietary requirement. Would hope to return to this hotel again soon and would definitely recommend this comfortable hotel as a lovely place to stay.

     
    suemM2335CH, Salisbury, UK — 26th October, 2016
  • “Delightful Long Weekend Break”

    This hotel was recommended to us by friends, and we certainly were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. This is a great Hotel, very quiet and relaxing with a lovely garden at the back. The rooms are varied and beautifully furnished and there is one to suit everybody. The food is very good and the staff are very friendly and attentive, nothing is too much trouble. The entertainment on the Friday and Saturday night were of a very high standard. We actually ended up spending an extra night and we have already booked up for another visit in March 2017, whereby we have actually chosen our sea view room. The package deals are certainly worth looking at. Would definately recommend.

     
    Anita B, Poole, UK — 25th October, 2016
  • “Another lovely meal”

    Love this hotel the staff are so friendly and accommodating. As non residents we booked an evening meal. It is five courses and they were all very nice and not too huge. The service was excellent and it was good value. We then adjourned to the lounge with coffee and were entertained by a male vocalist who was very watchable.

     

     
    suenovell, Bristol, UK — 22nd October, 2016
  • “Lovely Friendly Hotel in Beautiful Setting”

    I stayed at this hotel over the weekend recently- it was my third visit this year and I was welcomed back like an old friend

    The staff are so nice and helpful, nothing is too much trouble

    The situation of the hotel is excellent being within easy walking distance of the town and Meadfoot beach is right beside it

    The food is excellent and service fantastic

    I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone

     
    abooth2000, Belfast, UK — 10th October, 2016
  • “Very enjoyable out of season short break”

    The hotel is very comfortable. The room we had was well equipped and clean.
    The food was good and the staff were very attentive. The hotel is situated a ten minute walk away from the busy town, above the beautiful quiet Meadfoot Bay. The coastal cliff walks at the bottom of the peaceful garden are magical. I can thoroughly recommend this hotel and hope to return in the future.

     
    Pete R, Swanage, UK — 8th October, 2016
  • “Most enjoyable short break”

    Booked this hotel last minute as we had heard good reports and wanted a relaxing break away. We had a premium room on the second floor. The room had everything we needed and there was a full sized bath as well as a shower in the bathroom. Very pleasant lounge and gardens although the incredibly strong winds meant we weren’t able to sit outside. We had booked half board, the breakfasts were excellent with everything cooked to order, a good choice of cereal and fruit etc and more toast and tea/coffee if wanted. The evening meals couldn’t be faulted, 5 courses and coffee served at your table or in the lounge as you wished. The service was polite and attentive, far better than we have received in some other higher rated hotels. The bar prices were very reasonable and many of the other guests were repeat visitors. Hotel is situated near a small local beach and there is an hourly bus service into town from just outside. The car park is fairly small but there is roadside parking and a public car park nearby. Very good value for money.

     
    Heather M, Bournemouth, UK — 7th October, 2016
  • We knew in advance that our recent weekend break was going to be great value for money, but the reality of the actual experience was way beyond simple value The whole team, from reception to departure made us feel comfortable and relaxed and they individually went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed.
    The rooms were excellent, they were clean bright airy and well presented, the food was as good as any of the local hotels we have stayed at and better than most with service and attention at the highest level, and the entertainment package brilliant with the performers actually trying to engage with the guests rather than just going through their routine. and of course there were the little extras, unnecassary but still much appreciated such as the arrival cream teas and the departing Sunday Lunch, WOW..
    All in all an experience not to be missed or talked down, if you have never stayed at the Balmoral before then you have really honestly missed something special.

     
    Mr and Mrs Lamb, Somerset, UK — 3rd October, 2016
  • “Superb Break”

    Fantastic warm welcome. Excellent attentative staff and accommodation. Very pretty gardens and stunning views. Menu ***** Excellent. Very well presented and delicious food. Short walk to the beach and stunning scenery. Certainly worth a visit.

     
    Sandie S, Milton Keynes, UK — 2nd October, 2016
  • “Relaxing and enjoyable 6 night stay”

    We had an enjoyable six night stay in this neat and tidy hotel, our room was cosy and comfortable with everything we needed. The staff were polite, always helpful and nothing was too much trouble, With regard to dining; the food and service were excellent, the dinner menu, different each evening, always offered a fine selection of dishes, most enjoyable! Dietary; Coeliac’s are well catered for, staff aware and informed.The lounge is bright, airy and very comfortable, the garden is pleasant with plenty of seating there or on the terrace. Will definitely book holiday here again.

     
    NeilDudman, Chippenham, UK — 30th September, 2016
  • “Lovely friendly hotel”

    A lovely hotel, warm, welcoming. The staff very friendly and the food very good with a great choice. Every where was clean and tidy and nothing was too much trouble. We took our parents who loved the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed their break. Situated in a quite sunny spot a short walk to a very quite beach, the gardens were beautiful and it was such a pleasure to sit and relax in them.

     
    M M, Weston-Super-Mare, UK — 28th September, 2016
  • “enjoyable 4 night stay”

    cosy room lovely food and very warm welcoming staff.15 mins walk from town centre. Bus stop outside hotel( £1.50 return).if staying just for b&b treat yourself and have a evening meal and not worry about paying as they put on you bill at the end of your stay

     
    garry t, Nelson, S Wales — 27th September, 2016
  • “Excellent family run hotel, wonderful surroundings and excellent food and service”

    We had a lovely holiday, the hotel was more than we expected, beautiful room and outlook over the garden and sea views. Meals were extremely tasty, filling and of five star quality.

    We will definitely be booking a holiday here again for years to come. Nothing was too much trouble and the service was excellent.

     
    andysharon2016, Dudley, UK — 23rd September, 2016
  • “Excellent 6 night stay in Torquay”

    All the staff were friendly and professional , excellent food, great value for money, the hotel is situated in a lovely part of Torquay, 2 mins from the beach. Restaurant, lounges and bar areas all nicely decorated and welcoming. Customer service second to none, the gardens are lovely and well maintained, fresh flowers in the public areas, good toiletries provided in bathroom. The restaurant staff were efficient and slick and gave great service. The breakfasts and evening meals were superb. Had a cream tea one day in the garden, bliss! Thank you for a great stay. Will absolutely be back.

     
    Fiona B, Todmorden, UK — 22nd September, 2016
  • “Weekend getaway at The Hotel Balmoral”

    My daughter and I recently visited the Balmoral Hotel for a weekend break and we weren’t disappointed. We had a lovely warm welcome from Alex (and Rolo), who was very hospitable and helpful. Our room was lovely and clean, just thought that the bathroom could do with updating, but still very clean. The food was very good and the staff were very friendly and always had a smile. Loved the location, being a short walk from the beach and about 15/20min walk into Torquay town centre. Overall, we had an enjoyable, restful and comfortable stay and hope to come back and visit again next year!

     
    karenfitchett, Kent, UK — 24th August, 2016
  • “Elegant and inviting”

    Our room was cosy, but still made a very pleasant stay.
    The staff were very good and nothing seemed to be to much trouble for them.
    The hotels breakfast had a good range for all tastes. Its garden was a great place to relax and rest in a peaceful setting.
    From the Hotel we walked in town in about 12 minuets. Up hill on the way back so allow about 20mins!
    The only downside was, its small car park. Get there early for a spot!
    The Hotel is very well presented and I would definately recommend it to other travellers.

     
    sibsy, Kent, UK — 23rd August, 2016
  • “I would recomend this hotel with confidence”

    The staff made this holiday. Friendly and extremely helpful. Food was excellent room was comfortable and hotel is in a good location with great garden area.

     
    David, UK — 9th August, 2016
  • “Would recommend!”

    Good variety at breakfast.
    Lovely garden area to relax in.
    A pleasent peaceful feeling about the place.
    The staff were excellent.
    The room was exactly as advertised.

     
    S, UK — 23rd August, 2016
  • “Beautiful and relaxing.”

    It was lovely and clean and the bedsheets smelt lovely too and not stiff and starchy. All staff very helpful. Hotel grounds great to sit out in in the evening.

     
    Sharon, UK — 6th September, 2016
  • “we will be going back to stay again”

    It was a really nice stay we liked it all,

    Staff very helpful. Food very good. Nice location also are rooms were very clean.

     
    Stephen, UK — 15th September, 2016
  • “Everything you need from a hotel…..”

    Friendly, helpful staff on Reception (on check-in) and in the restaurant. Also, the housekeeping staff were very nice & polite. Will stay here again!

     
    Michael, UK — 18th September, 2016
  • Exceptional

    Our room was lovely and had a beautiful view of the garden and you could just see the sea through the trees. The staff were all friendly and very attentive to our needs.

     
    Roxanne, UK — 6th June 2016
  • “Long weekend”

    We both had a great time. The staff are very helpful and very friendly the food very good and the breakfast are brilliant it was our second time we stayed in room 5 very good views and hope to be staying again soon

     
    Garry D, Brize Norton, UK — 17th August, 2016
  • “Enjoyable stay”

    We spent a couple of nights at the Balmoral in early August very good location for the beach and access to the coastal footpath recommend the walk to Babbacombe and Oddicombe beach with at stop at Anstey Cove. Delightful and spacious gardens overlooking the sea just nice to chill out with a cold beer, bar and lounge area are also well set out complimenting the gardens. It is a brisk 10 minute walk into the town centre or if you prefer there is a bus stop immediately outside the Hotel.
    We paid for an upgrade to a premium room which was clean, tidy and quite spacious… Staff excellent nothing too much trouble polite, helpful and friendly. Although we did not have an evening meal we heard complimentary reports and the breakfast was good. Overall an enjoyable stay in a very pleasant location.

     
    GKontour, Stone, UK — 17th August, 216
  • “we keep going back”

    We found this hotel a couple of years ago and have been back many times. Some of the rooms have great views of the beautifully well kept gardens and sea which is only a short walk away (where you will find a great little beach cafe run by very friendly people) the breakfast are good and the evening menu is varied enough to suit most people. The staff are always friendly and pleasant, on our last visit a few weeks ago it coincided with my birthday and my jam rolly Polly turned up with a candle and a verse of happy birthday this place really is a little gem and improves every time we visit. Can’t wait until we go again

     
    plsbris, Bristol, UK — 14th August, 2016
  • “Good Location with very friendly staff”

    Good local breakfast, nice rooms,.. For dinner they offer a good choice from four different alternatives for each course. After five evenings we look forward to sitting down for Dinner still.
    The wonderful terasse and the beautiful garden invite to take the evening tea after Dinner outside.
    We recommend this hotel if you would like to spend some days in a British atmosphere.

     
    Gerhard S, Munich, Germany — 12th August, 2016
  • “A peaceful Stay and fed like a king, Very tranquil.”

    We found the Balmoral Hotel on line and made a booking direct, as this was a last minute decision to have a break. On arrival we were booked in and given our room, cosy and very clean. They staff and management were very helpful to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The food at mealtimes was excellent plenty of choice and piping hot which I always ask for, I was given a warning that the plates are very hot. Located only a five minute walk down to Meadfoot beach it is very quiet and peaceful with a large garden good for a relaxing stay, We enjoyed our stay because there were no quiz nights or Bingo to occupy our time just good conversation with new made friends. Thank you Balmoral you fitted the bill just right.

     
    Rotan2, Birmingham, UK — 5th August, 2016
  • “Amazing hotel amazing and friendly staff”

    I’ve just returned from a weeks break in Torquay at this memorable hotel. This Victorian building is beautiful, the location is fabulous, just two minutes walk to the beach, and may I recommend the walk into Torquay along the front, idyllic. The staff are amazing, so friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble, always delighted to help you enjoy your stay. The food in the restaurant is first class, fabulous choices and superbly served. I’ve already booked for September!!

     
    juliebarratt2016, Leicester, UK — 2nd August, 2016
  • “Sad to Leave”

    The Hotel Balmoral was a lovely place to stay, eat and drink and we were very fortunate that the weather was very good too making this feel like a real holiday.

    The staff were universally friendly, polite and helpful and the food choices were very good. Sitting in the lovely garden with glimpses of the sea through the trees on a sunny day with a nice cold drink in hand was about as good as it gets.

    We stayed in a cosy double and would upgrade to a premium room next time as is not much more and gives more space. Our room was advertised as ‘cosy’ though so I can’t pick fault there. Devon has much to shout about and for us Hotel Balmoral is one of those things. We’ll be back.

     
    tris10London, London, UK — 26th July, 2016
  • “A great find! ”

    Can not fault this beautifully located hotel. Every member of staff was welcoming, friendly and couldn’t do anything more to make our stay what it was…which was perfect! Our room was clean and tidy with a lovely view over the garden with sea views too. Breakfast and dinner were brilliant and service exceptional. Only downside was that we were only there 2 nights, we didn’t want to leave. Recommend this hotel 100%, and we will definitely be returning for longer next time.

     
    hdrew1, Emsworth, UK — 24th July, 2016
  • “Excellent”

    After a long journey from the Midlands we arrived to a friendly welcome. We we shown to our comfortable room where we we able to get a welcome drink. At dinner we were greeted and shown to our table for the length of our stay. The five course dinner was excellent, we didn’t make the cheese and biscuits. Breakfast was just as good plenty to eat and the service was excellent they couldn’t do enough for you.

     
    Janet Allsopp2016, Derby, UK — 10th July, 2016
  • “Very Clean and Staff very helpful”

    The breakfast were a variety of fresh fruit or cereal or Yogurts followed by a wide choice from the main breakfast menu although the portions were on the small size it was sufficient to set you up for the day with the toast and marmalade

    The waiter always wore white cotton gloves when serving you main breakfast plate which was nice to see as many of the top hotels do not do this anymore all of the staff were very polite and respectful of the guests needs in particular Alex the manager.

    Great time will go back again when down that area.

     
    holeinonepar3, West Midlands, UK — 3rd July, 2016
  • “Nice hotel with friendly people ”

    It’s in a nice location with a short walk to the beach and a nice cliff walk for the fitter amongst to you to Torquay. Food was really good and plentiful. Rooms are typical seaside guest house type and are definitely designed for the clientele that frequent the hotel.

     
    Mrs Botters, — 28th June, 2016
  • “Very English seaside hotel with lovely staff”

    This is a lovely English seaside hotel in a quiet part of Torquay.

    .. the public areas were lovely with a large lounge that opens out onto a decent sized garden with tables and chairs. A separate cosy and well stocked bar, and a good sized restaurant. The food for both dinner and breakfast was very good, and you couldn’t fault the very attentive staff. The kept a low profile, but were there the moment you needed something.
    There was also live entertainment for the two evening we were there.

     

     
    jimmuswell, London, UK — 13th June, 2016
  • “Go West to the best and take the family with you.”

    Just got back after a stay at the Balmoral Hotel, Torquay, what a break, the staff are superb, so accommodating, for Alex the manager nothing is to much trouble, tasks are performed with smiles and politeness, Steve and Stella the owners make sure you have everything you require, as did Sean the head chef who saw to your dietary needs. The food both at breakfast and dinner are mouthwatering with plenty of choice and combinations, and served graciously with care by the waiting staff. Our room was great,with all mod cons.Want a break, don’t hesitate, it’s the Balmoral Hotel for you.

     
    Gordon J, Port Neath Talbot, UK — 13th June, 2016
  • “Clean and quiet”

    Lovely friendly hotel. Spotlessly clean and friendly. Bedroom small but very well designed everything we needed. Hotel is in a quiet location with a lovely small beach just 2 min walk. Lovely quiet garden to relax. Inside are plenty of comfy chairs and sofas to relax. Breakfast very nice served to you at your table.

     
    Jackie34149, Cardiff, UK — 10th June, 2016
  • “Summer special weekend”

    Ten of us rolled up to this lovely family run hotel and it was just like going home for a family reunion. The staff treat you like old friends rather than just another punter. Some of the larger hotels could learn a lot about service from the Balmoral…

    On Friday evening the entertainment of Johnathan Marks was one of the best we have ever seen and would welcome him back anytime.

    The food was, as always, exceptional and for Sunday lunch they provided us with the mother of all buffets. A great idea for a hot sunny Sunday afternoon.

    Thank you Hotel Balmoral, for a really excellent weekend.

     
    Helend123, Andover, UK — 5th June, 2016
  • “Lovely little hotel :)”

    Nice little hotel , cute and warm and homely 🙂
    A little mix up with problems with rooms but the manager sorted the problem .
    Excellent friendly staff always helpful and went that extra mile 🙂
    Always there if you need help and try to get you anything
    Really nice breakfast and a simple evening meal but tasty and full of flavour .
    Cream tea was pretty and lovely sandwiches
    Lovely pretty gardens, lovely sun spot (great for relaxing and forgetting the world)
    A short walk to the beach, a bus stop outside to Torquay or a 15 min walk .
    Close to attractions and things to do .
    Rooms for family’s are beds available with seeing family’s around .
    Beach close by has a little cafe and seating area and toilets .
    Hotel very clean and little touches in rooms (biscuits, hand wash, creams and hair dryer)
    Lots of information leaflets near front door
    Car park and roads parking if overflow
    Stunning views to Sea and a nice walk to get a even better view .
    A lovely warming hotel with excellent staff and excellent value .
    8/10 for a super location so quiet and peaceful .
    Entertainment available singers and music and Tv area in the lounge area .
    Seating in the garden and pretty flowers around .
    Very enjoyable stay apart from the room issue .
    If your looking for a nice location and stay defo worth a visit for a couple of peaceful days 🙂

     
    Gemma W, Manchester, UK — 1st June, 2016
  • “Excellent stay”

    We have just returned from a great weekend at Hotel Balmoral. Everything was excellent, the food, staff and accommodation. The location must be one of the best areas of Torquay, tucked away from the town but within walking distance and on a bus route which is just a 6 minute ride! I would particularly like to thank the extremely effective and friendly staff in the restaurant and the chefs who produced a range of quality food. Well done to everyone involved with running this hotel to such a high standard and we look forward to coming again one day.

     
    BristolRomevisitor, Bristol, UK — 22nd May, 2016
  • “Value for money”

    ..good staff plenty of good food but most of all great value for money. You will need to go along way to find a better value weekend break. A very good position near Meadfoot beach and a handy walk into Torquay centre (about 15 mins).
    I will be going back again …as well as many other regulars I spoke to.

     
    Mick M, — 18th May, 2016
  • “Brilliant”

    Wonderful staff, great food and good entertainment. I cannot praise the hotel highly enough. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and although it was a very busy weekend everyone felt they were the only people in the hotel when it came to service.

     
    Flossyragbag, Basingstoke, UK — 16th May, 2016
  • “Relaxing Break”

    Booked a short break the week before travelling down to Devon. The Balmoral is in a good location a few minutes walk from a picturesque cove, there is a lovely lounge with very comfortable seating, a very nice bar/lounge and an impressive dining room. The staff are extremely helpful, polite and attentive. The food at the hotel is extremely good with a great choice.

     
    Patrick D, Peterborough, UK — 2nd May, 2016
  • “Weekend Break”

    Second time we have stayed here at this family run hotel. Staff are really friendly. Food amazing with 5 courses every evening. Plenty choice for breakfast. Easy walk into town centre. Beautiful gardens and really good value for money. We are planning on coming again very soon. Very highly recommended.

     
    1965andyd, Bristol, UK — 1st May, 2016
  • “A Superb Hotel”

    Stayed here for 4 days, food was amazing with excellent choice, room was very spacious and comfortable, good location,. staff were very helpful and friendly. Thank you Balmoral for a lovely stay and I will definitely be back.

     
    colina408, Oldbury, UK — 28th April, 2016
  • “Yearly visit”

    Just returned from our annual knees up at The Hotel Balmoral. Yet again they did us proud even doing a special menu for our fancy dress night? The food is excellent every night and a good choice for breakfast. Every time we go, the hotel has improved, this time the bedrooms my friend and I occupied had been given a makeover with brand new bathrooms and delightful decor. Meadfoot Beach is a stones throw away and the Harbour and shops walking distance. The bus stop is right outside the door for those not able to walk. It has a lovely lawn with tables for just relaxing in the sun . Thank you Balmoral, see you next year.

     
    Jaxpe, Yeovil, UK — 25th April, 2016
  • “Another amazing stay”

    We have run out of words to describe what a fabulous time we have had these past few days. Super, lovely, great, marvellous, amazing, terrific…..none seem worthy of the praise everyone has been stating. We have had the most splendiferous time, once again, and your attention to detail has been outstanding. You will know that we were particularly impressed with your making our fancy dress evening so special with the food and music to match….such a lovely touch. Thank you so much for making our away days the success it always is.
    Already we are getting enquiries about next year’s dates, so we will have to get our heads around that one.
    Once again….thank you to all of the gang for your continued efforts at making our stay wonderful. We really appreciate it.

     
    Shaftsmum, Stratford-upon-Avon, UK — 25th April, 2016
  • “Four day break”

    Very good Hotel. Clean, large lounges, spacious bedrooms, brilliant food…

    When we arrived we were put in room 3 which was overlooking the gardens very nice…

    But it had only a shower and my wife doesn’t do showers so we were shown a room with a bath and shower which we readily excepted just as good as room 3…

    Nothing seemed to be any trouble and we have been very pleased with everything…

    Breakfast was very good with plenty of variety and dinner lovely 5 course meals no need to go hungry always a good selection…

    We went with a group and the Saturday night the group had organised a Caribbean night, so the chef did a Caribbean menu which was as always brilliant…

    Cannot fault Hotel or staff and would thoroughly recommend it…

     
    Johnsammy, Essex, UK — 24th April, 2016
  • “Always Great”

    I have stayed here probably for the past 10 years and every year seems to improve! You get what you pay for, rooms are standard and adequate. Food is great and the staff are always polite and friendly. If you are looking for somewhere small and simple, the Balmoral is the place to be!

     
    Superstar546, — 24th April, 2016
  • “Birthday Visit”

    My husband booked a 2 night break which turned into 3 nights!! The cream tea on arrival was lovely, the food absolutely delicious every meal first class, we stayed in a premium room which was very comfortable, bed was really comfy, lovely shower and plenty of hot water, my husband had arranged for some flowers which were lovely , a very friendly hotel staff and guests.superb.

     
    Lisa S, Shaftesbury, UK — 19th April, 2016
  • “A superb place to welcome in the new year!”

    A lovely, friendly hotel with great food and excellent service. Just like going to a country house to celebrate new year with good friends. The pleasant helpful staff help to make any stay really enjoyable.

     
    778AMH, Solihull, UK — 2nd January, 2016
  • “Friendly”

    We had a long weekend stay with friends. The hotel staff were very friendly and efficient. The food was plentiful and wholesome.

     
    KWHWoottonBassett (Tripadvisor), Wootton Bassett, UK — 22nd February, 2016
  • “Excellent value for money”

    An elegant, high quality hotel reminiscent of a bygone era with a modern twist. The food was excellent and the service first rate. Very professional establishment whilst maintaining a cosy environment. Would definitely stay here again.

     
    Jane B (Tripadvisor), — 5th March, 2016
  • “Lovely Family-run hotel”

    This hotel gives very, very good service at competitive price. The decor is pleasant, reflecting it’s name. Evening meal has a choice of dishes. The main courses offer meat, fish and veggie, all of very good quality. The staff are friendly and helpful. For the price, you will not find better.

     
    G H (TripAdvisor), Manchester, UK — 26th March, 2016
  • “Well worth a visit ”

    After being let down by another hotel at the last minute my newly married wife and I managed to get a room at the Balmoral and glad we did. Now it was a standard room so I wasn’t expecting much but it suited what we needed very much and the full English breakfast is excellent.

     
    Jeff L (Tripadvisor), Stafford, UK — 27th March, 2016
  • “Lovely friendly hotel”

    A bigThank you to all the staff for a fantastic weekend. The food was exceIlent and everyone is so helpful would highly recommend the Balmoral hotel. It’s in a good location.bus stop just out side the door

     
    Sally C (Tripadvisor), Somerset, UK — 31st March, 2016
  • “Another great weekend at the Balmoral”

    This is our third visit to The Balmoral, and as always Food and entertainment first class. Hotel spotless and all staff friendly and very approachable. Hotel was full with a good atmosphere. Already looking forward to our next visit.

     
    Lesbev (Tripadvisor), Weston-Super-Mare, UK — 4th April, 2016
  • “A gem of a hotel”

    Not too big and not too small.We had a room with walk in shower.It was a reasonable size and cheerfully decorated. The hotel has a huge drawing room looking out onto lovely gardens with a view of the sea in the distance.Its a small walk down hill to the beach where there is a beach cafe and toilets. The food at the hotel was very good and on our three night deal was varied every night.

     
    Jean D (Tripadvisor), Bude, UK — 11th April, 2016
  • “July 2015. Second visit.”

    Lovely private hotel with individual service and high level of attention to customers. Helpful staff with our baggage, and very helpful in finding the right room for us over the phone. We loved room 5 with its garden view and nice décor. Amusing and cheerful staff at breakfast and dinner, and incredibly good value dinner, although too much food for us to eat all. . Nice terrace and garden area to take coffee or lunch for those times when you just want to relax and unwind – which is exactly what we wanted.

     
    John t (TripAdvisor), Merville-Franceville-Plage, France — 16th August 2015
  • “Post wedding stay”

    I stayed at this hotel with my husband after our wedding. The hotel is in a lovely location, walking distance to Meadfoot beach and Ilsham green. The hotel is clean has lovely comfortable decor and a beautiful garden. We had a great room with a sea-view and were even treated to complimentary roses to congratulate us on our wedding. They offer a choice of breakfasts so you are not restricted to just the usual full English or cereals. ALL the staff were lovely friendly and helpful.

     
    Abby O (TripAdvisor), London, UK — 1st November 2015
  • “Fab – Fun- Great Value Weekend”

    Just returned from a weekend stay – even the dreadful weather couldn’t spoil it!!

    The Hotel is clean, the staff really friendly & cheerful and the food excellent. Exceptional value – Cream Tea on arrival, 2 Cooked Breakfasts (also Cereal etc.), 5 Course evening meals on Fri & Sat (lots of choice) and Sunday lunch to finish with before your journey home. Bar (reasonably priced) and evening entertainment brill.

    We’ll definitely be back – couldn’t appreciate the views and the grounds this time – all a bit windy & grey – but would imagine stunning in Spring & Summer.

    Definitely recommend. *****

     
    AlisonCJ (TripAdvisor), Taunton, UK — 7th December 2015
  • “All you could wish for in a small Hotel.”

    Another very good stay at Balmoral, Room very very clean, staff lovely, food perfect, location and amenities just right, the view from our room was good.

     
    Shirley v (TripAdvisor), Bristol, UK — 15th December 2015
  • “Dec Break”

    First class. Walk into the hotel and you felt right at home.

    The rooms were lovely. Clean, warm, kettle and toiletries.

    Food really good. Breakfast was all you could eat. And a 5 course evening meal. Lovely staff.

     
    Audrey3156 (TripAdvisor), Wales, UK — 21st December 2015
  • “Excellent start to the New Year”

    The Hotel Balmoral in Torquay is a wonderful little hide away that feels like a home from home. We were there for three days for the New Year holiday and from the moment we arrived we started to relax. This lovely family run hotel goes the extra mile to make your stay extra special and this is Bourne out by the fact that many of the guests come back year after year in fact one guest remarked that it was more like a family reunion. The food at the Balmoral is of a consistently high quality the rooms are clean and all amenities are there for you. The three nights of entertainment had the whole place rocking. I would recommend this lovely little hideaway to anyone who wants to relax and be looked after we have never had a bad experience at this hotel. It really is gem in the English Riviera.

     
    Heland123 (TripAdvisor), Andover, UK — 2nd January 2016
  • “Return Visit”

    Having visited the Balmoral many times over the past nine years, it amazes me, or perhaps not, how the standard of the friendly and efficient welcome is maintained while you are there, the chef offers a creative menu to suit all tastes and is well presented and served by an efficient friendly dining room staff, special diet requirements are no problem. My latest Christmas/ New Year visit has proved to be the best ever, and confirms my reason to keep going.

     
    Fred P (TripAdvisor), Lichfield, UK — 4th January 2016
  • “Christmas at the Hotel Balmoral”

    We thoroughly enjoyed our 5 night Christmas break. The staff were all very friendly and could not do enough for you. Food was excellent, great variety. Good entertainment, including a trip to the pantomime. Thank you to everyone at The Hotel Balmoral for a great Christmas break.

     
    EFS59 (TripAdvisor), Bridgwater, UK — 9th January, 2016
  • “valentines break”

    Just returned from weekend break very happy with stay very professional from the moment we arrived. Nice and relaxed atmosphere. Had a great time.

     
    Colin L (Tripadvisor), Paignton, UK — 16th February, 2015
  • “A three day break”

    We booked for two nights, then stayed for three. Very clean, staff brilliant, food excellent and plenty of it.

     
    Shirley V (Tripadvisor), Bristol, UK — 1st March, 2015
  • “Week End Break”

    Lovely atmosphere excellent food and pleasant staff. The entertainment provided is always of a good standard.

     
    John C (Tripadvisor), Melksham, UK — 3rd March, 2015
  • “hidden gem”

    We throughly enjoyed our stay at the Balmoral,  the food was excellent and the staff were fantastic, highly recommend and will be returning,

     
    James R (Tripadvisor), Bournemouth, UK — 3rd March, 2015
  • “Superb!”

    I booked the ‘weekend special’ offer and it was amazing value. All staff, without exception, went the extra mile and had pride in ensuring that we had an excellent, comfortable stay.

     
    Ali H (Tripadvisor), UK — 8th March, 2015
  • “Cracking weekend”

    Absolutely fabulous weekend away. Exceptionally good value. All the staff were excellent and extremely helpful during our stay. Barman even knocked up a list of cocktails for us!

     
    Simon H (Tripadvisor), Telford, UK — 8th March, 2015
  • “Excellent break”

    Had a truly wonderful break at the Hotel Balmoral. The staff made it extra special as they were so welcoming and helpful, nothing too much trouble. The food was exceptional, and the service of a high standard.

     
    Christine C (Tripadvisor), Telford, UK — 10th March, 2015
  • “The Balmoral, Torquay”

    Had a most enjoyable stay here in March 2015.
    Great family run hotel, excellent food, accomodation and staff. Got a great feeling of originality at this hotel.

     
    paul r (Tripadvisor), bristol, uk — 16th March, 2015
  • “Great time had by all”

    Had a great time at the Hotel Balmoral, Staff were friendly and gave great service. So overall an excellent good value break with friends.

     
    tonell (Tripadvisor), sorrento — 17th March, 2015
  • “SHORT BREAK”

    A good friendly hotel. The staff could not do enough to help, the food was excellent and a lovely sea view from the window.

     
    Pat T (Tripadvisor), Birmingham, UK — 17th March, 2015
  • “Week end break March 2015”

    We had a superb week end at Balmoral, friendly staff excellent food will return for sure. The quality and choice of menu for evening meal catered for every one.

     
    Ladik F (Tripadvisor), — 17th March, 2015
  • Incredible Value

    Stayed for a weekend break. So pleased I hit on the Balmoral. I couldn’t fault it at all.

     
    Jayne H (Tripadvisor), Truro — 19th March, 2015
  • Lovely Weekend Break

    Once again a lovely weekend break at the hotel Balmoral helpful and friendly staff lovely clean and comfortable room good quality food looking forward to our next visit to the Balmoral..

     
    Jill & Kim Skidmore, — 27th Feburuary 2014
  • The Hotel to Choose !

    Very warm welcome enjoyed all aspects of my stay, lovely food good choice nothing is to much trouble clean comfortable stunning views staff are friendly and helpful will be staying again..

     
    Ms J Powell, — 23rd May 2014
  • Great Hotel

    First found the Hotel Balmoral last year,thoroughly enjoyed our stay and decided to return this year. Booked a sea view and garden room,fantastic view. Staff unbelievably friendly and the food first class. Will be back again without doubt. Absolute value for money..

     
    Mr Packer, — 12th May 2014
  • What a jewel of a hotel & staff

    I have just returned having spent a weekend away in Torquay at this hotel & can only say I was very impressed.

    If you are expecting the Ritz, then you will be disappointed, but true British value for money you will get,

    The rooms although dated, are more than adequate, the food is excellent & plentyful, the service polite & professional, nothing seemed too much for the team,

    Evening entertainment was just right, a nice mix of music,

    The departing lunch on Sunday was a lovely touch,

    I cannot say too much for this jewel of a hotel othet than to give it a try, you wont be disappointed..

     
    WorcesterJohn, UK — 11/03/2014
  • Weekend break

    We went for a weekend break with relatives. We have been visiting this hotel on and off for the past 21 years and have not been disappointed. The refurbished reception area is very stylish and our room had also had a make over. The food as always is very good. We were also lucky with the weather, it was warm and sunny. Alex and the staff are very friendly and work hard, but the lady behind the bar could do with some training on mixing pimms and getting her prices right! We will certainly be going back..

     
    Pauline J, Worcester — 11/03/2014
  • We had a fabulous weekend !

    We had a fabulous weekend. The staff were very friendly but professional and nothing was too much trouble. The food was absolutely amazing and cooked to our own personal tastes. We will definitely be booking to stay here again..

     
    Danceddict (tripadvisor), Plymouth, Uk — 17th February 2014
  • a great return visit

    My husband and I returned for a four night stay,on 2/6/13.When you visit some were you’ve’ enjoyed before, you wonder if it will be as good as last time,we needn’t have it was better if anything, the food was excellent,the staff help full and friendly,bar prices very sensible.We paid extra for a larger room which was well worth it.In all excellent value for money and the whole place has comfortable friendly feel.we will be back,Lynn &Terry.

     
    Mrs Hancock, — 07 June 2013
  • What A Place

    From the minute we arrived, we were welcomed.Our room with sea views, No3, were good.We have nothing to complain about,the staff were there all the time, but not in your face. The food was very good. When we come back to Torquay, we will certainly come to this hotel. It needs a bit of care in some places, but that does not detract from the comfortable stay. All the staff were attentive. Thank you. See you again.

     
    Mrs Shirran, — 8th June 2013
  • A Relaxing Break

    We were very impressed with the Balmoral during our week there.
    Friendly staff, excellent food and plenty of it and a great location.

     .

     
    Mr. Ian Glendinning, — 20th June 2013
  • Everything was perfect

    Everything was perfect. Great location, superb facilities and the welcome from the staff was excellent. Nothing was any trouble. Dinner was amazing..

     
    Darcy Gassett, United Kingdom — 18 September, 2012
  • Great Value for Money

    This hotel represents great value for money. It is in a fabulous location, with all the major sights within strolling distance. The staff are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast gives lots of options, with freshly made dishes made to order. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to fellow travelers..

     
    Melisa Mizzell, Switzerland — 15 October, 2012